Guilty Pleasure

Okay, confession time.

I typically only divulge these sorts of “secrets” to my closest friends and family members, but since I barring all on this #sol18 challenge, here I go.

I play interactive, choose your own adventure games.  And yes, there are also in-app purchases, which I do casually fork over a dollar or two for as it’s all to acquire an advantage throughout various events in the game.  Who wouldn’t?

What’s an advantage though?  I’m glad you asked!

It all depends!  Maybe I need to purchase the most stylish outfit for a night out with a prince.  Maybe I need to score a favor for VIP passes into the most chic night club.  Perhaps I have to bribe a reporter to sway a story in my favor.

Why, oh why are these the things that absorb a fraction of my day to day time?

It’s kind of like watching the Housewives of (insert whichever season here) series, which I must confess is another guilty pleasure. It’s just a way to unplug from the pressures and mentally exhausting on-goings of life.  It helps me unwind, have a little fun, and be mindless for a moment.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

image slice of life

7 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasure

  1. Samantha Marquardt

    This sounds like a neat way to experience things you wouldn’t otherwise experience. Thanks for sharing your guilty pleasure…it gives us all permission to not feel bad about our own guilty pleasures when we realize others have their own. 🙂 Mine is a healthy addiction to HGTV shows like Hawaii Life and Mexico Life. I like to decide which house I would choose. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mrssurridge

    I have to admit that I have spent my fair share of time on Candy Crush, but I think that I should switch games since a night out with a prince sounds MUCH more appealing. Right now, my guilty pleasure is reality TV. You put it perfectly–a way to unwind and be mindless for a moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cute slice! I don’t really know what you are talking about but this passage:
    “Maybe I need to purchase the most stylish outfit for a night out with a prince. Maybe I need to score a favor for VIP passes into the most chic night club. Perhaps I have to bribe a reporter to sway a story in my favor.”
    … pulled me in and made me perk up my ears! Sounds like a lot of fun!
    Not such a terrible guilty pleasure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mrsday75

    Guilty pleasures. Love ’em. Perfect brain breaks for when you need them. I play far too many Facebook games and in the summer, I love to watch Big Brother. I just love to watch all the psychological drama that goes on 🙂

    Like

  5. I have way too many guilty pleasures to name, and love interactive fiction (this sounds like it may be in the same family).

    I think – if we consciously choose to spend time on our diversions, knowing what we gain (I get to meet people, exercise, and feel like part of a team, in the game I started playing a few months ago), and what we give up – it helps to not feel as guilty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment